Posted by: ewkigo | October 7, 2010

Mental Health Day

Today is Thursday and my worst days are Tuesdays and Thursdays, However, today is different. I was relaxed and laid back all day and I didn’t worry about anything at all. This is because I took a mental health day. My life has been filled with confusion and disappointments lately and I’ve been overlooking all the wonderful things that have been happening to me and focusing only on the sadness. I, therefore, decided to take a ‘mental health day’ this morning. It’s just a day where I do away with all the obligations and responsibilities and sit back and enjoy every moment. I spend my time being grateful for the good and hoping for a better tomorrow. For me, it’s extremely important that I am able to do this because I’m an extremely emotional person and I can easily lose sight of the blessings I have been fortunate enough to enjoy. I get overwhelmed and flustered at times and I just need to take the time to recharge my batteries. I have an extremely positive outlook on life and for that many call me naive and idealistic.

I constantly hope and pray for a better tomorrow despite my misfortunes and imperfections. I go out of my way to see the best in everyone and give them the benefit of the doubt. I do not judge because I don’t think I’m worthy of that privilege. Who am I to say how one should live their life or what decisions they should make? This is not to say I have no opinion, not at all. On the contrary, I do have opinions and I voice them openly, however, I won’t judge you and treat you differently because you deserve more; at the very least you deserve respect. This is how I view life and not many people share this view. As a result, I’ve come across quite a few who ridicule me and think I’m a joke. A few years ago when I started viewing life in this way I found it very exhausting to keep up with others and explain my position. I would be drained of energy after a while, feel sad that so many people could be such pessimists, feel overwhelmed and tired of being positive when so many things go wrong. Thus the creation of the ‘mental health day’.
I literally believe it’s crucial for my own sanity. I spent all day doing nothing and I absolutely loved every single moment of it. I lay in bed, I read the paper, I went on facebook, I played tag with a pretty cool guy and I had an amazing day. I feel energized and rejuvenated and ready to face the world again. Therefore, dear reader, I would encourage you to try this one time and see what difference it’ll make in your life. Till next time, have a good night.
Leave a Reply

Categories

